guides

2022 SCFD Free Days at Your Favorite Venues

By Melissa Shrader Editor Publisher Loveland Macaroni Kid January 10, 2022

Colorado residents can enjoy FREE DAYS at some of our area's most popular destinations, thanks to SCFD funding as well as state and corporate sponsorship. 

Free Days are for general admission; special events and exhibitions may still require the purchase of a ticket.


Families who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits can visit select venues anytime throughout the year and pay just $1 per person (up to 10 family members) when they show their EBT card. Admission can not be paid with the EBT card; it is simply proof of program participation.

Venues offering $1 admission for SNAP recipients are the Children's Museum of Denver at Marsico Campus, Denver Botanic Gardens, Denver Museum of Nature & Science, and History Colorado Center.

Venues may be operating under limited capacity for all guests and advance reservations may be required. We encourage you to check back before every free day for the latest recommendations. Dates are subject to change without notice.


Children's Museum of Denver at Marsico Campus
2121 Children's Museum Dr., Denver | (303) 433-7444

Joy Park Free Nights return on the third Friday of each month, May through September, from 4:00 PM until dusk. The interior of the Museum is closed except for the restrooms.

  • Friday, May 20
  • Friday, June 17
  • Friday, July 15
  • Friday, August 19
  • Friday, September 16

Colorado Railroad Museum
17155 W. 44th Ave., Golden | (303) 279-4591

  • 2022 Dates TBD

Denver Art Museum
100 W. 14th Ave. Pkwy., Denver | (720) 913-0130
Additional free days may be added. Remember, children 18 years and younger are free EVERY day of the year!

  • Tuesday, January 11
  • Saturday, January 22
  • Tuesday, February 8
  • Tuesday, March 8
  • Tuesday, April 12
  • Sunday, April 24
  • More dates TBA

Denver Botanic Gardens at Chatfield Farms
8500 Deer Creek Canyon Rd., Littleton | (720) 865-4346

Advanced online registration is required; tickets will be released on the 15th of the current month for the following month. Free Days are for regular Gardens hours only and do not include ticketed events.

  • Monday, January 17 (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)
  • Thursday, February 17
  • Wednesday, March 16
  • Thursday, April 21 (Earth Day)
  • Tuesday, June 7
  • Wednesday, July 6
  • Tuesday, August 16
  • Friday, November 25 (Thanksgiving Friday)

Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street
1007 York St., Denver | (720) 865-3500

Advanced online registration is required; tickets will be released on the 15th of the current month for the following month. Free Days are for regular Gardens hours only and do not include ticketed events.

  • Monday, January 17 (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)
  • Thursday, February 17
  • Wednesday, March 16
  • Thursday, April 21 (Earth Day)
  • Tuesday, June 7
  • Wednesday, July 6
  • Tuesday, August 16
  • Friday, November 25 (Thanksgiving Friday)

Denver Firefighters Museum
1326 Tremont Pl., Denver | (303) 892-1436

  • 2022 Dates TBD

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
2001 Colorado Blvd., Denver | (303) 370-6000

  • Monday, January 3
  • Sunday, January 23 (Guitar Day)
  • Monday, February 7
  • Sunday, February 27 (Black Science Day)
  • Sunday, May 1 (Día del Niño)
  • Monday, May 23
  • Wednesday, June 29 (5:00-9:00 PM only)
  • Wednesday, August 17 (5:00-9:00 PM only)
  • Wednesday, September 7 (5:00-9:00 PM only)
  • Monday, September 19
  • Sunday, October 9 (LGBTQ Community Day)
  • Monday, December 5

Denver Zoo
2300 Steele St., Denver | (720) 337-1400
On select "Share the Love" Days, the Zoo is giving 125 free ticket vouchers for every 15-minute admission window. Register for vouchers during a five-day lottery period.

  • Free Day: Friday, January 7 | Lottery: December 26-30, 2021
  • Free Day: Saturday, January 22 | Lottery: January 10-14
  • Free Day: Sunday, February 6 | Lottery: January 25-29
  • Free Day: Sunday, April 10 | Lottery: March 29-April 2
  • Free Day: Saturday, October 8 | Lottery: September 26-30
  • Free Day: Tuesday, November 1 | Lottery: October 20-24
  • Free Day: Sunday, November 13 | Lottery: November 1-5

Dinosaur Ridge
16831 W. Alameda Pkwy., Morrison | (303) 697-3466

A special note: Admission to the exhibit hall Trek Through Time is free; guided bus tours are available at a reduced rate of $12 for adults and $7 for children.

  • 2022 Dates TBD 

Four Mile Historic Park
715 S. Forest St., Denver | (720) 865-0800

  • Friday, January 14
  • Friday, February 11
  • Friday, March 11
  • Friday, April 8
  • Friday, May 13
  • Friday, June 10
  • Friday, July 8
  • Friday, August 12
  • Friday, September 9
  • Friday, October 14
  • Friday, November 11
  • Friday, December 9

History Colorado Center
1200 Broadway, Denver | (303) 447-8679
As a Blue Star Museum, History Colorado Center offers free admission for all active duty, National Guard, and Reserve military personnel and their families every day. On Veterans Day, they offer free admission to veterans and their families (up to 5 people) and 50% off new memberships.

  • 2022 Dates TBD

Plains Conservation Center
21901 E. Hampden Ave., Aurora | (303) 326-8380

  • Thursday, January 20
  • Thursday, February 17
  • Saturday, March 19
  • Thursday, June 16
  • Saturday, July 23
  • Thursday, August 18
  • Saturday, November 19
  • Thursday, December 15

Always Free: Aurora History MuseumLittleton Museum and Living History FarmHudson Gardens, and Museum of Outdoor Arts.

MCA Denver offers admission for 1¢ on the first Saturday of the month to Colorado residents. 

Participating venues include Butterfly Pavilion, Clyfford Still Museum, Denver Firefighters Museum, Denver Museum of Nature & Science, History Colorado Center, Molly Brown House Museum, Museum of Contemporary Art Denver, and Wings Over the Rockies Air & Space Museum.